Iskandar Widjaja

Violin

Contact: Ute Rost, +43 676 670 2423
user supplied image
user supplied image

»Iskandar Widjaja with his furious violin, animated with urgency and fire and highly sensitive lyricism. It is very unique playing with splinters and disruptions, with intangible and crackling sounds. It’s his complexity of style, which is remarkable.«

francemusique.com

Biography

Labeled both as “Worldclass-Violinist” (Stuttgarter Zeitung) and “Rockstar” (The Jakarta Post), Iskandar Widjaja connects worlds. The son of Arabic-Dutch and Chinese-Indonesian parents grew up with high-caliber classical music and has performed as a soloist with internationally most renowned ensembles such as the Deutsches Symphonieorchester and Konzerthaus Orchestra Berlin, the Munich, Warsaw and Shanghai Philharmonics, Sydney Symphony, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, Radio Symphony Orchestra Vienna or the Hong Kong Sinfonietta. Simultaneously, he has developed a parallel showbiz career in east Asia, with regular TV appearances, commercial endorsement contracts, brand-ambassador duties and “trending topic” status (most mentioned term) on Twitter.

He entered the Berlin “Hanns Eisler” conservatoire as an extraordinary student at the age of eleven. Awarded many international prizes even as a teenager and while studying, he now collaborates with the great names of classical music such as Zubin Mehta, Christoph Eschenbach, Rolando Villazón, David Foster, Itamar Golan and Fazil Say. He is also often to be seen at mass-media events like Miss World or Miss Earth, the Davis Cup, EXPO in Milan, the Fashion Week in Paris or the world premiere in Vienna’s Konzerthaus of the suite for violin and orchestra “Across the Stars” from Star Wars.

In addition to the traditional repertoire, he created the concept-concert “Bach&ZEN” in collaboration with a ZEN-Master and also works as a composer and songwriter. His compositions cannot be narrowed down to one genre, but combine influences of film music, baroque, pop and hiphop.

Iskandar is strongly committed to educational projects for children in the Asian Pacific region, typically in collaboration with UNICEF or the WWF. Supported by KOMPAS Gramedia, Indonesia’s biggest media group, and the “besharp foundation” he organizes charity events to finance musical instruments and instruction for orphans, street-, and schoolchildren.

His personality and energy are aptly summed up by the string players’ house magazine The Strad, in the following words: “Iskandar Widjaja, a true force of nature.”

He plays the “Stephens” 1690 Stradivari and an 1875 JB Vuillaume.

Videos

News

'Mercy' in Papenburg

Iskandar Widjaja gave a concert performance with his band at the Statdhalle Papenburg in October.
The Ems newspaper reports:
Iskandar Widjaja is thrilling. The violinist with cosmopolitan roots [...] knows how to overcome barriers, also in music. Widjaja's playing is fluid, [...] of remarkable energy and with a strong instinct for the overarching. His meditative reflection on the essentials of art is bouncy and moving forward [...].
Widjaja and band give their all, always mastering the sometimes highly virtuosic demands of the different scores. They ignite a colorful violin lightning, sometimes sounding jazzy and grooving, sometimes rocky and pounding, or even deeply absorbed. Widjaja's own creations prove to be effective treasures, reminding sometimes of Andrew Lloyd Webber and sometimes of Astor Piazzolla. Widjaja begins to sing and thus reaches the last hearts in the hall. An evening full of emphasis, great feelings and the most diverse interpretations of classical and popular music.

Hip Hop Symphony

Iskandar Widjaja has just released his latest single "Hip Hop Symphony". Within the first week, the song has been streamed over a quarter of a million times on YouTube.
video clip

Iskandar Widjaja

Violine

Kontakt: Ute Rost, +43 676 670 2423
user supplied image
user supplied image

»Iskandar Widjaja (...) fasziniert. Er kann auf der Violine Farben erzeugen, die man selten hört (...). Das Publikum war völlig hingegeben. Iskandar Widjaja ist ein Name, den man sich merken muss.«

Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg

Biografie

Als „Weltklasse-Geiger“ (Stuttgarter Zeitung) aber auch als „Rockstar“ (the Jakarta Post) bezeichnet, verbindet Iskandar Widjaja Welten. Während der Sohn arabisch-holländischer sowie chinesisch-indonesischer Eltern mit hochkarätiger Klassik aufgewachsen ist und bereits mit einigen der international renommiertesten Klangkörper wie dem Deutschen Symphonieorchester- und Konzerthausorchester Berlin, den Münchner-, Warschauer- und Shanghaier Philharmonikern, vom Sydney Symphony Orchestra bis zum Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, vom Radio Symphonieorchester Wien bis zur Hong Kong Sinfonietta konzertiert hat, baute er sich parallel dazu eine Showbiz-Karriere im ostasiatischen Raum auf, die zu regelmäßigen Fernsehauftritten, kommerziellen Werbeverträgen, Markenbotschafter-Tätigkeiten und einem „trending topic“ Status (i. e. meistgenannter Begriff) auf Twitter führten.

Mit elf Jahren wurde er als Jungstudent an die Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin aufgenommen. Als Teenager und Student mit vielen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet kollaboriert er heute mit Größen der Musik wie Zubin Mehta, Christoph Eschenbach, Rolando Villazón, Cameron Carpenter, David Foster, Anggun, Itamar Golan oder Fazil Say. Gleichzeitig tritt er häufig auf massenmedialen Events wie der Miss World oder Miss Earth, dem Davis Cup, der EXPO in Mailand, der Fashion Week in Paris oder der Weltpremiere von „Across the Stars“, der Suite für Violine und Orchester aus „Star Wars“, im Wiener Konzerthaus auf.

Zusätzlich zum traditionellen Repertoire veranstaltet er das Konzept-Konzert „Bach und Zen“ in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Zen-Meister und arbeitet als Komponist und Songwriter. Seine Kompositionen lassen sich in kein Genre einordnen, mit Einflüssen aus Filmmusik, Barock, Pop und HipHop.

Iskandar engagiert sich stark im Bereich bildungsfördernder Projekte für Kinder im Asien-Pazifik Raum, so in Zusammenarbeit mit der UNICEF oder dem WWF. Mit KOMPAS Gramedia, Indonesiens größtem Medienkonzern, sowie der „besharp foundation“ veranstaltet er Charities zur Finanzierung von Musikinstrumenten und Unterricht von Straßen-, Waisen- und Schulkindern. Seine Persönlichkeit und Energie fasst das Magazin „The Strad“ zusammen mit: „Iskandar Widjaja, a true force of nature.“

Er spielt die Stradivari „Stephens“ von 1690 sowie eine J. B. Vuillaume von 1875.

Videos

News

"Mercy" in Papenburg

Mit seinem Concept-Konzert "Mercy – A Space Odyssey" war Iskandar Widjaja im Oktober zu Gast in der Statdhalle Papenburg.
Die Ems-Zeitung berichtet:
Iskandar Widjaja begeistert. Der Geiger mit weltbürgerlicher Herkunft [...] weiß auch in der Musik Schranken zu öffnen. Widjajas Spiel ist flüssig, [...] von bemerkenswerter Energie und starkem Instinkt für den überspannenden Bogen. Federnd und vorwärtsgehend gelingt jene meditative Besinnung auf das Wesentliche in der Kunst [...].
Widjaja und Band geben alles, sind jederzeit Herr über die mitunter hochvirtuosen Anforderungen der unterschiedlichen Partituren, entzünden ein buntes Violin-Gewitter, klingen mal jazzig groovend, mal rockig stampfend oder auch innig versunken. Widjajas eigene Schöpfungen erweisen sich als effektvolle Kleinode, die zuweilen an Andrew Lloyd Webber und dann wieder an Astor Piazzolla erinnern. Widjaja beginnt zu singen und erreicht damit auch die letzten Herzen im Saal. Ein Abend voller Emphase, großer Gefühle und unterschiedlichster Interpretationen der E- und U-Musik.

Hip Hop Symphony

Zuletzt veröffentlichte Iskandar Widjaja seine Single "Hip Hop Symphony". Auf YouTube wurde der Song innnerhalb der ersten Woche über eine Viertelmillion Mal gestreamt.
>>zum Video